Hey Y’all. SO- finally met with Chris Oh, the image/style consultant last night. We spoke about this here blog, and my career aspirations, and how important having a clear brand is when marketing yourself. We established that especially as an actor it is important to be the very best version of “you.” We’re meeting again this Sunday to go further in exploring what my personal style should be. In the meantime, she asked me to think over a few things:

1. What words would I use to describe myself? What is the essence of me?: Hmm… Dry, witty, laid-back, snarky (god I love that word), warm, fun, unpretentious, nerdy, dark, outspoken, brash, contemplative, bright.

2. What words do the people who know me best use to describe me?: Well, that’d be up to you to answer. Got any ones to volunteer?

3. What kind of roles do I really want to play: As far as musical theater goes, I’ll always be dreaming of playing the larger than life ladies that were popular in days of yore. Patti LuPone, Bernadette Peters, Liza Minelli, Barbra Streisand… I would never go as far as to say that I’m up there with them, but that’s the kind of woman I know I can play. Other than that, I connect so much to the character of Liz Lemon on 30 Rock… just her vulnerability, her nerdiness, not fitting in with convention, being “un-perfect.” Still being in a position of power, but being a regular woman. Love Tina Fey, she’s definitely a personal hero of mine.

4. Which actresses’ style do I admire?: Emma Stone, Kristen Stewart (most of the time), Tina Fey (as long as we’re talking about her), Amber Tamblyn, America Ferrera.

So when we meet up on Sunday, we’ll figure out more of the direction I should be heading. Then after that, we’ll possibly go into my closet and figure out what works and what doesn’t, analyze my body/face type, and maybe even go shopping together. It all depends on what I can afford, and how much time I have to devote to the process. But I’m very very excited to start working with Chris, and really do some good work on my image and style. YAY!

Tonight, I’ll be trying to collect more words describing me from friends and family. And working out. YAY! One day a week is SO not enough, but it’s all I got right now… grr.

LLL-

Adge

