Last night was the workshop with Jamibeth Margolis. We started off with a quick Q & A, and then moved on to doing individual monologues. We performed them alone, which was not what I expected, but hey. I did my 30 Rock mono for the first time, and I totally spaced for a minute. She was cool about it tho, and I was able to start over and get through it the second time. She said that she liked it, and I got the impression that with a little bit of work, I could definitely add this one into my rotation. When we had all gone, she paired us off and gave us all some different kind of sides. My partner and I did a scene from an unpublished musical, and it was a good example of a situation where the text doesn’t provide you with much idea of the circumstances. We read it once sitting down, then got some notes on the actual story that was taking place. With that information, we read it a second time, and there was definite improvement in the tension between us. The other scenes that were read were very interesting, and it was cool to see what everybody else did with what they were given. I really thought it was cool to see the improvement that was made between the second and first reading with the other scenes.

Overall, I had a good time, and it was great to practice my cold reading skills. As a musical theater performer, I haven’t had a lot of opportunities to read sides, so it was nice to flex those muscles a bit. Jamibeth was extremely friendly and relaxed, and made us all feel very comfortable. She had some fantastic insights on the technique of cold reading, and things to keep in mind when you find yourself in those types of situations. 🙂

GOING TO THE GYM TODAY! Hooray! Zumba… PS, can it be just an even temperature anymore? it’s either sweltering or chilly and windy these days. Stupid new york weather.

LLL-

Adge

